Fuji X-Pro1 Portrait Review: Behind the scenes with Issy Ferris: Day 48

Yesterday I was up before the sun to shoot a music video for a young folk singer/songwriter ‘Issy Ferris’. I serendipitously heard her song ‘My Treasure’ on youtube and knew instantly I HAD to make a music video for it.

A lot of emails and production later I found myself on-set at dawn in the beautiful Warwickshire countryside ready to film and photograph this young rising star. I kept the Fuji X-Pro1 in my pocket throughout the day and recorded what was happening on my set! I hope you like the photos as much as I enjoyed the experience.

1/250 sec;   f/6.4;   ISO 500

1/250 sec; f/6.4; ISO 500

Now this image has impressed me, not only because Issy is stunning and the light is beautiful but because the file is seriously impressive. This single picture has given me massive confidence in the Fuji X-Pro1. The file is of high enough quality to deliver to a client, with a size of 47.5mb processed with Capture One, its not the biggest but for a small camera it certainly is good. The sharpness in the eyes is great, recently I have been struggling with focus roaming the streets, but here with ample daylight and a bit of time its lovely and sharp and didn’t struggle to find focus. I chose not to use the Fuji for the press shots on this shoot but now I know I could with confidence should I need to. If I was doing a head shot session or some portraits the X-Pro1 would be the perfect kit, light, portable and very capable as long as you are able!!

This backstage portrait was shot with a 18mm lens, I adjusted the perspective slightly in Photoshop to combat the wide angle. I can’t wait to shoot some portraits with the 35mm Fujinon lens, it’s on the shopping list!

Would I swap my Canon Kit for the X-Pro1 kit?? NO….  I find the X-Pro1 to be the perfect camera to have in your kit as a backup/2nd/3rd/4th? camera or for situations you need subtlety.  There are definitely situations where the X-Pro1 is an advantage. I will be shooting my sister’s wedding in 2 weeks solely on the Fuji so keep an eye out for that post, I believe in that situation it will be the perfect camera for me to capture some magic moments.

Now lets have a look at my behind the scenes images. I must comment on how professional Issy was for a 16 year old. Even running through mud barefoot on a freezing February day!

1/250 sec;   f/8;   ISO 500

1/250 sec; f/8; ISO 500

1/250 sec;   f/8;   ISO 500

1/250 sec; f/8; ISO 500

1/500 sec;   f/11;   ISO 500

1/500 sec; f/11; ISO 500

1/500 sec;   f/11;   ISO 500

1/500 sec; f/11; ISO 500

1/250 sec;   f/11;   ISO 500

1/250 sec; f/11; ISO 500

1/250 sec;   f/11;   ISO 500

1/250 sec; f/11; ISO 500

1/250 sec;   f/11;   ISO 500

1/250 sec; f/11; ISO 500

1/250 sec;   f/11;   ISO 500

1/250 sec; f/11; ISO 500

1/250 sec;   f/6.4;   ISO 500

1/250 sec; f/6.4; ISO 500

1/250 sec;   f/6.4;   ISO 500

1/250 sec; f/6.4; ISO 500

1/250 sec;   f/6.4;   ISO 500

1/250 sec; f/6.4; ISO 500

1/500 sec;   f/5.6;   ISO 500

1/500 sec; f/5.6; ISO 500

1/500 sec;   f/6.4;   ISO 500

1/500 sec; f/6.4; ISO 500

1/500 sec;   f/6.4;   ISO 500

1/500 sec; f/6.4; ISO 500

1/500 sec;   f/6.4;   ISO 500

1/500 sec; f/6.4; ISO 500

So how was the X-Pro1 in a situation like this?? PERFECT… For me the X-Pro1 was built for this kind of work, I needed a powerful yet discreet bit of kit. It slipped into my pocket easily (A Barbour jacket, with the 18mm lens only) and I know that the file size is good enough for a lot of different media. I can see how the Fuji X-Pro1 system would be amazing for wedding photography and documentary/backstage photographers, the files are defiantly comparable to the canon 5d11 when shooting RAW. Having said that I still chose my canon 5D11 with a 50mm f1.2 lens to shoot the press stills, I always shoot tethered into Capture One Pro and the Canon/P45+ system suits my workflow and file size/quality fulfill my needs in this situation better than the Fuji. This was a great day of filming and shooting and I was helped by some great people. First up the guy who will be putting it all together in Avid and colouring it with Davinci Resolve, Guto Piletti 1st AD (Twitter @gutopiletti).
Big thanks to Dutch and the BH Management team. http://www.bighelp.biz/ and Laura Walton who did an amazing job with the makeup too. http://www.laurawaltonmakeup.co.uk

Check out what Issy Ferris has been up to here: http://www.issyferris.co.uk/

http://www.paularcher-uk.com

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Fuji X-Pro1 Portrait Review: Behind the scenes with Issy Ferris: Day 48”

  1. kisskissclick says :

    If you want to listen to the song ‘My Treasure’ by Issy Ferris its here: Its fantastic and you wont regret listening:

  2. Quentin D says :

    Nice pictures! The x pro 1 is amazing. What treatment so you apply to achieve thoses “milky” effect to the pictures in color?

    • kisskissclick says :

      Thanks very much. Its a serious bit of kit. My colour treatment starts with a very neutral flat process from capture one, I do my colour work in Photoshop CS6, its colour fill layers with different opacities/blending modes and a few curves. Maybe I should blog about the process?

      • Quentin D says :

        Hi,
        Thank you very much for your answer. It would be nice. I know another photographer that has the same kind of process (David Olkarny) and I really want to know how it’s done.
        Cheers.

  3. chiaromistero@gmail.com says :

    Thanks for a wonderful write-up. It was helpful and the samples from the 18mm lens belies many of the negative reviews that have been published about it.
    Cheers.

    • kisskissclick says :

      Thanks for the great comment! I’m glad you found it useful, the 18mm in my eyes is a good lens, originally for me because it was pocket friendly, now i would find it hard to change as i am achieving results i am happy with!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,249 other followers

